Start with the plant
Every guide starts from how a plant actually lives indoors: the light it tolerates, how it uses water, the air and temperature it prefers, and what goes wrong. We present the essentials on a care card at the top of each guide, with the source named underneath.
Where the facts come from
- University extension publications and government or research-institute papers
- Botanical garden and horticultural society care sheets
- ASPCA for whether a plant is toxic to cats, dogs or horses
- Grower forums and community reports, treated as reports of experience rather than proof
When sources disagree we say so and explain which we trust and why. Sources are listed at the end of each guide.
Blank means not stated
If our sources don’t give a figure, such as a humidity range, the care card leaves it out. We don’t fill gaps with a plausible number, and a plant’s pet status reads “Not stated by our sources” until a source says otherwise.
Review before publishing
Each guide is read for accuracy, clarity and unsupported claims before it goes live, and revisited when new information changes the advice.
What we don’t claim
We don’t invent statistics or personal growing histories. If we have not grown a plant ourselves we do not write as if we had. We stay within the limits in our editorial policy: indoor foliage, trailing and succulent plants, with no unsourced pet-safety or health claims.
Questions or spotted a mistake? See corrections or contact us.